Machineryline » Reviews » Excavators » Caterpillar

Reviews Excavators Caterpillar

4.3
Average score of Caterpillar
42 reviews
3.9
3.9 Price
4.3
4.3 Reliability
4.2
4.2 Maintenance
4.5
4.5 Operation
4.5
4.5 Convenience
Search results: 42 reviews
Filter
Add a review
1.8
Backhoe loader Caterpillar 428f2
2018 Year
9 Feb 2021
1.0 Price
1.0 Reliability
4.0 Maintenance
2.0 Operation
1.0 Convenience
I bought it new. And literally a year later he sold it. The reason is banal, it is pouring. The operating time is 1500, and it feels like 15000. Vibration in the box, all the cylinders, distributors and a lot of hoses flowed in the very first frosts, at times there was a hum from the pump, the boom began to dangle at the handle attachment point already at 500m / h and many more little things that can be describe for a long time. In general, for this money it is better to buy two used tractors. I am very upset, I will no longer buy Caterpillar in my life and will not advise anyone
4.6
Tracked excavator Caterpillar 320 EL
2011 Year
15 Oct 2020
4.0 Price
5.0 Reliability
4.0 Maintenance
5.0 Operation
5.0 Convenience
The equipment is good, but it requires a professional approach. It's not worth putting a trainee on the controls, only an experienced excavator operator can make the work go smoothly. It's a very convenient and maneuverable machine and, with good experience, one can manipulate it precisely like a jeweler.
4.8
Tracked excavator Caterpillar 330D
2006 Year
9 Oct 2020
5.0 Price
5.0 Reliability
5.0 Maintenance
5.0 Operation
4.0 Convenience
Fast excavator. The cab turns quickly, the boom moves smoothly. I would like the bucket to be more versatile. Repairs were minor. Over 14 years, there were no serious issues. In terms of quality, it is on par with JCB.
4.4
Mini excavator Caterpillar 428
3 Oct 2020
5.0 Price
4.0 Reliability
4.0 Maintenance
4.0 Operation
5.0 Convenience
I bought the Caterpillar 428 mini excavator a year ago. For six months everything was fine, but recently, three rings on the inclined plate plunger of the hydraulic pump broke. I called a specialist. The expert said that the problem is quite easily solvable. Following his recommendation, I ordered a grinding washer and a plunger with a single ring.
3.6
Wheel excavator Caterpillar М318
2012 Year
21 Sep 2020
3.0 Price
4.0 Reliability
3.0 Maintenance
4.0 Operation
4.0 Convenience
Purchased a used machine on a platform in Europe. This year has been nothing but trouble. Firstly, it is extremely difficult to start in severe frost. It was heavily used before being sold, and it shows - it gradually falls apart. Repairs are not cheap. These are the main drawbacks. On the positive side, it has good productivity.
3.8
Backhoe loader Caterpillar 444F2
21 Aug 2020
5.0 Price
4.0 Reliability
4.0 Maintenance
3.0 Operation
3.0 Convenience
I rented the CAT 444F2 excavator-loader. I heard many enthusiastic reviews about this machine. But when I started working on it myself, I immediately noticed the disadvantages. Firstly, the huge front wheels obstruct the entire view of the bucket from the cabin. The hydraulic system is weak - it simply doesn't have enough power for a machine of this weight. As for the assembly quality and comfort in the cabin, there is nothing to complain about.
3.8
Backhoe loader Caterpillar 444
8 Aug 2020
4.0 Price
3.0 Reliability
2.0 Maintenance
5.0 Operation
5.0 Convenience
We have been using our Caterpillar 444 model for over two years. We had to replace the half shaft, but the breakdown was covered under warranty. We use the loader almost every day. The duration of our work shifts is a minimum of 10 hours. Even in extreme cold temperatures, the machine keeps working. If we consider the downsides, in my experience, the main one is the cost of original parts.
4.8
Backhoe loader Caterpillar 324
6 Aug 2020
4.0 Price
5.0 Reliability
5.0 Maintenance
5.0 Operation
5.0 Convenience
We rented the Caterpillar 324 loader. I am not an operator - I worked on the machine as a subordinate. During the first week of excavator operation, I noticed that the fuel consumption was suspiciously high. Forums write about a maximum of 20 liters, but we were getting close to 25. We started looking for the reason. We assumed that we rented an excavator with heavily contaminated filters. We changed the equipment rental provider and now everything is fine with fuel consumption. The excavator is powerful, maneuverable, and comfortable for the operator.
4.2
Tracked excavator Caterpillar 315 CL
2003 Year
2 Aug 2020
4.0 Price
5.0 Reliability
4.0 Maintenance
4.0 Operation
4.0 Convenience
Productive but compact excavator. Caterpillar's entire range of equipment is superb (we have 3 tractors in our fleet) and the excavator is no exception. The cabin is very comfortable, with good visibility and easy-to-use controls. The main thing is not to refuel it with anything you find. Repairs will be expensive later!
3.8
Backhoe loader Caterpillar 938
1 Aug 2020
4.0 Price
3.0 Reliability
3.0 Maintenance
4.0 Operation
5.0 Convenience
For a while, I was completely satisfied with the Caterpillar 938 excavator-loader. The machine is equipped with a C6E engine and a common rail fuel system. One day, the excavator stopped starting. The engine itself worked fine only up to 1500 RPM, and then it would start stalling. Additionally, thick white smoke started coming out of the exhaust. The breakdown was fixed at a service center by an acquaintance. Since then, six months have passed without any further issues occurring.
Would you like to leave your vehicle review?
Add a review